Review: Wonder Woman, Vol. 4: WAR by Brian Azzarello and mostly Cliff Chang

Wonder Woman, Vol. 4: WarWonder Woman, Vol. 4: War by Brian Azzarello
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Finally, we get some resolution to what’s dragged on for the first TWO YEARS of this title. I think maybe if Azzarello had condensed the first 3 into 2, that would have flowed better and moved forward at a better pace. Instead, it really seemed like:

description

Yes. A slow mo punch in the face.

Luckily, this volume picks up; though I’m still not confident enough to give it 4 stars…3+ then?

This is War. Literally. Old Man War is a washed up God, but don’t count him out…

First Born looks to have defeated his uncle Poseidon, and happily marches on his way to take what he thinks is his…

Cue throw down between Wonder Woman Posse and First Born’s Army…again, Zola, just go away.

They’re getting their asses handed to them when BOOM…Orion arrived in the nick of time…and takes them away to…a New place…unfortunately, one of the team must sacrifice themselves to stop First Born from following…

Diana beats up Artemis again…yawn.

War shows up, and though he looks to be over-matched, pulls a VERY cool move that’s possibly the best of the book.

This is to back up Diana, who ends up going full Demi-God, removing her restraints that keep her power in check…

How does it work out? Guess you’ll have to read to find out. The ending is pretty solid actually, and sets up a very cool way forward.

That being said, there’s some issues: 1) If Orion and Wonder Woman are hooking up (sorta) where does that leave Superman???

2) Why is it some of these crossover events have everyone show up all the time, yet the First Born of Zeus is destroying the world, and Supes/Bats/JL are nowhere to be found?

3) Diana’s solution to the problem of First Born is an important distinction made between her and the other 2 members of the Holy Trinity, and I actually like how it’s done here.

So good work, but the whole story arc to so damn LONG to get to the resolution, I’ve kind of tired of it, and am worried about investing in the next one.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

4 thoughts on “Review: Wonder Woman, Vol. 4: WAR by Brian Azzarello and mostly Cliff Chang

Leave a Reply

