Review: Young Avengers, Vol. 2: Alternative Culture by Kieron Gillen (Text)

Young Avengers, Vol. 2: Alternative CultureYoung Avengers, Vol. 2: Alternative Culture by Kieron Gillen

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 stars

Pretty cool, especially considering I walked into volume 2 without getting to read the first one.
Big Thank You! to whoever orders comics for my library…

So, somebody (something) named Mother has nefarious plans for this group of teenagers, and ends up leading them on a long wild goose chase throughout parallel universes. Wiccan and Hulkling were an interesting couple, as were Kate Bishop and Noh-Varr. I actually found Kate and Noh-Varr to be a bit cuter, since there didn’t seem to be as much drama surrounding their relationship.
Lots of angst, lots of action, and lots of selfies.

description

It was cute, and there was a nice bouncy feel to it, but somewhere along the line I just felt like some of it was trying a bit too hard to be young and hip.
Then again, what do I know?
I’m not exactly the target audience here, you know?
In fact, I’m not sure whether or not I’m even allowed to use the word hip anymore.
So.

I’m definitely not as blown away as everyone else was, but that might be because I don’t have the whole story…yet.
But with the glowing reviews my friends Sesana & Sam gave this one, I’m more than willing to try to find out what the fuss is all about.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Young Avengers, Vol. 2: Alternative Culture by Kieron Gillen (Text)

  1. I hear you on the whole library not buying volumes…I have vol 2-3 of Ultimate X-Men, with no #1…I have Battle of the Atom without half of A vs. X or the supporting series(es). Oh and, you’re allowed to break your hip. In that context it is OK. That and no one says hip anymore. They went back to calling it Rap, because Solid Hop sounded stupid.

    Like

      • It’s OK, you’re at the stage when you can now tell your kids “Well I think you’re cool”.

        Yup. Anyone who’s still worried about being cool over 25 is kinda a loser anyhow. You’re way too groovy to worry about that 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m honestly just looking forward to being able to pull off the senile old cat-lady phase of my life. Can you imagine the fun I’m gonna have with that?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

