Review: The Wrenchies by Farel Dalrymple

The WrenchiesThe Wrenchies by Farel Dalrymple

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Magical? Mind-expanding? Evocative. All that just from chapter one.

Or maybe it’s just distracted. Tangential. Unfocused.

I keep hearing Keith’s review (https://www.goodreads.com/review/show…) in my head, and it keeps haunting me with the promise of some mind-bending insanity. But the more I read, the faster I skim, as I get more and more impatient for something to surprise and delight (or at least unsettle) me.

These loosely-connected tales of these kids don’t entirely like up in time – is this a post-apocalyptic world, or just a bunch of kids with more imagination and less interesting lives?

Have you ever heard Louis CK’s bit on the tomato story? (Here is 12 minutes of pure joy for you – you’re welcome: http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=X0IV_ZB9CDs) This feels like the meandering storytelling approach – and I don’t have the patience to wait for Dalyrumple to come back around to the point.

I’ve got a lot of other comics to read – books I’m looking forward to a lot more than this. Sorry Keith, I swear I’ll try another someday.

I am a Shallow Comics Reader. Hear my attention span pop.

Here’s one great page from that book though:

Wrenchies pageView all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Wrenchies by Farel Dalrymple

  1. I’m starting to reach that part too…where I’m thinking “I could be reading something better than this…, and I’m old, so I might not have that many more years left”. See: Diggle, Andy: Uncanny

    Like

Leave a Reply

