Review: Velvet: Before the Living End, by Ed Brubaker & Steve Epting

Velvet, Vol. 1: Before the Living EndVelvet, Vol. 1: Before the Living End by Ed Brubaker
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s no secret I’m a Brubaker fan, and an even bigger fan of his non-Supes stuff. Add to the mix Steve Epting’s superb artwork, and you’ve got yet another strong entry into the Brubaker catalogue.

This time, it’s more of the noir spy-thriller from the dark 70s.

Velvet Templeton is the secretary to the director of ARC-7, a spy agency even more secret than the CIA and MI-6 put together. Leftover from WWII operatives, ARC is the Wolverine of spy agencies (The Best at what they do, and what they do isn’t very nice).

However, when the top operative is killed on a relatively simple mission, things start to unravel…a retired ARC agent is set up to take the fall, and Velvet just doesn’t buy it…so she goes to check up on things, and finds herself just as set up by someone inside the organization.

Too bad for them, Velvet was trained as an Operative when she was 16yrs old…and she’s got nearly 30yrs experience under her belt, which no one else knew when they went after her…

description

It would also appear that she’s got history with nearly everyone, in the femme fatale way…but she’s also the ass-kicker extraordinaire.

I love the atmosphere and feel of this book, it just sets the mood so well you feel like you’re there, or at worst, in a great movie theatre watching this.

There’s just so much to enjoy here, great protagonist, good support characters, superlative artwork, great writing, and it all adds up to a fun ride. Can’t wait to climb on again!

description

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

Leave a Reply

