Review: Transmetropolitan: Year of the Bastard – by Warren Ellis & Darick Robertson

Transmetropolitan, Vol. 3: Year of the BastardTransmetropolitan, Vol. 3: Year of the Bastard by Warren Ellis

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve waited an entire YEAR for this! Finished Vol. 2 Sept 20 2013, waited for the library to send Vol. 3, and lo and behold…they were not doing so…then they didn’t have a copy left, so I asked them to replace/order a new one…then they did…and it still took 3-4 months to come in and then to make it’s way into my hot little hands…it has been an ordeal.

I was so excited to read this!


description

I’m happy to report, it was worth the wait.

Spider is forced to cover the upcoming election; something he is loathe to actually do, but when he needs to barter for a new food-replication unit, his boss trades that for the coverage.

I don’t know what I can say about this series, and Warren Ellis (as well as Darick Robertson’s art) other than, they are 100% Full-power. They’re tearing down the corruption of politics/politicians, pointing out the sleazy wheeling and dealing that leaves the little guy fucked over at the end.
This is no-holds-barred evisceration of the political process in democratic countries (USA especially, not sure about UK’s political workings, and I know Canada is bad, but we don’t have the Pres/VP tag team).
There’s also an entirely blatant destruction of Fascist candidates which envokes Hitler (the guy’s name is Heller; there’s a fella in the audience who looks just like Adolf, and Robertson keeps putting a shadow under Heller’s lip, to look like a tiny moustache.) Spider shits all over this guy, but ends up backwardly endorsing his opponent for the nomination, because he likes the female press secretary, and because the incumbent is known simply as “The Beast”.
So endorsement goes to “The Smiler”, who’s no better at all than the Beast, and we see how things develop and just how disgusted Spider gets (and I think anyone who’s read the first 2 volumes knows, he can be pretty angry) it almost seems like he’s better and more righteous when he’s mad as hell.

He makes it his mission to take down a puppet running mate, which ends up having unforeseen consequences at the end of the book. It’s a fantastic moment of sheer

description

I’ll be interested to see if they follow up this storyline and keep at it, because this was Spider at his most vitriolic, caustic, biting best. The first few volumes were great, but this feels like they really hit on something good, and I would love to see them keep it up.

Strongly recommended, if you hate what the American Political Process is/has been, you can read this, without even having to read the first 2 volumes, it’s good that way. However, those volumes will give you more depth into the character of Spider Jerusalem and make you understand him a bit better, but this is a superb book.

View all my reviews

Get this review and more at:

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

2 thoughts on “Review: Transmetropolitan: Year of the Bastard – by Warren Ellis & Darick Robertson

Leave a Reply

