Amazing X-Men: The Quest for Nightcrawler

Amazing X-Men, Volume 1: The Quest for NightcrawlerAmazing X-Men, Volume 1: The Quest for Nightcrawler by Jason Aaron
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have to be a little hypocritical here. I complain about comics bringing characters back from the dead so often that death becomes a revolving door, and totally loses its impact. And I complain about comics cynically killing off characters for the sole intention of getting media exposure, already planning on bringing them back so they can get more media exposure. Normally, I hate that stuff. But this is Nightcrawler, so I don’t care.

How much does my complete and total love for Nightcrawler affect my enjoyment of this book? Probably a lot. Because I can see definite flaws here. A lot of the subplots seem kind of aimless, the pirating is given short shrift, and I don’t get what was up with the frozen wasteland. But it gave Nightcrawler back to me, so I still kind of loved it.

Happily for me, Aaron does a fantastic job with Nightcrawler himself. It’s just so nice to see his voice on the page! I especially liked the various reunions between Kurt and his friends. No surprise that the big buildup is to Logan and Kurt reuniting, and it’s absolutely perfect. Aaron is smart enough to avoid trying to put words to the moment, and McGuinness drew the most amazingly perfect page. The look on Logan’s face, you guys. There are very few moments in comics that can’t be improved on, and I think this was one of them.

I liked how Aaron brought Nightcrawler back, that it was at a definite cost, and that it was a cost tailored to the character. If this gets properly explored, it could be really interesting. Also, I owe Aaron a lifedebt for quietly dialing back Azazel from Austen’s inanity. This version is obviously not the actual, literal devil, and I couldn’t be happier.

I fully admit that I’m probably super biased when it comes to this book. I love Nightcrawler so much that it would have to be a much worse book than this is for me to do anything but love it just for bringing him back. But what’s good is quite good, and the rest is more than passable. To me. So take that with a hefty pinch of salt.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Amazing X-Men: The Quest for Nightcrawler

Leave a Reply

