Review: Deadpool, Vol. 3: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Deadpool, Vol. 3: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

by Brian Posehn, Gerry Duggan (Goodreads Author), Scott Koblish (Illustrator)

3 out of 5 stars

Went in to this trade with higher expectations than I probably should have. It got some really great reviews on Goodreads. Overall, I was just a little let down. Still, I found some of the ridiculousness funny and chuckled like a 12 year old at Pool’s one-liners on a couple of occasions.

The first part of the collection takes us back to when disco was king, bellbottoms were in, and racial jokes could still be funny. Deadpool, Iron Fist, and Power Man take on “The White Man”. He’s a pimp. A pimp call “The White Man”. Good start. And this was some of the funniest stuff in the collection. A clever sex scene with Deadpool alone had me smiling like an idiot. But, that’s about my level of maturity. Unfortunately, the art didn’t do much for me. I know, I know. It’s supposed to look like an old 70’s comic. Whatever. It looked sorta shitty.

description

The second portion of the book took a little more of a serious tone. Not that there weren’t some funny moments, (the Silence of the Lambs reference and a humorous take on the “fastball special” were amusing) but certainly a different vibe than that of the first story. Almost too dramatic a change in mood from the beginning of the book. It involved the North Korean version of the Weapon X program and Wade gets a hand from Logan and Steve Rodgers kicking some commie ass. A couple of cool moments here including Cap staring down a North Korean battalion, Wade singing “It’s Raining Men”, and Wolverine getting caught in the sack with Storm. Lots of fun action and I liked the story, but I wouldn’t call it great. I think I would have enjoyed the second half more if it had been separated from the first story, which was just ridiculousness. What can I say, they just weren’t chocolate and peanut butter for me. I did like the art a lot more in the second half of the collection and Declan Shalvey did a good job. I discovered him reading the 28 Days Later Omnibus and appreciate his work.

description

Overall this is for fans of Gerry Duggan and Brian Posehn’s earlier stuff, Deadpool fanatics, outrageous comedic violence, and anybody looking for a little mindless entertainment that is ultimately forgettable.

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

