Review: Deadpool Killustrated by Cullen Bunn

Deadpool KillustratedDeadpool Killustrated by Cullen Bunn

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The other day my mother was commenting that I was the only teenager she knew who’d read classics of any sort. My sister rightly pointed out they were extremely difficult to read. I have to agree with her. It’s like attempting to swallow rock candy whole. First it gets stuck in your throat, then if you get it down, it lies about uneasily in your stomach.
Anyway, this book is what happens if you throw those two things together – when a knowledge of classics combines with a healthy dose of mischievousness, it deliciously explodes into Deadpool Killustrated.

Side note: I couldn’t believe Deadpool, the character, was co-created by the same guy responsible for the infamous Hawkman suffering of 2014. Man, the difference a good writer can make.

Considering this is the first Marvel comic I’ve read, I’d say it was a damned good introduction. Everyone I know in the Marvel universe is dead when the story starts.

Yeah.

Somehow I was firmly on Dead’s side as he went about slaughtering literature. I wanted to stand up and applaud when he did in Gregor Samsa. I wasn’t sorry. Not one bit.

Plus, there were the creative methods of killing – the Lilliput incident. Cats! Cats, y’all. Why didn’t I think of that?

I did not expect the Little Women to be so…enthusiastic. Badass ladies everywhere! This was what Pilgrim’s Progress was about? No wonder they liked it so much.

Hua Mulan is there too! She made the whole thing go up a star. And when Dead calls her the “hottest guy he’d ever seen”…FREAKING HILARIOUS.

But just in case you think this is a writer’s gore fantasy and the only thing that happens is the oh-so-entertaining butchering of famous people in fiction, there is a plot. Poor Sherlock Holmes is tasked with stopping Dead. He gathers the literary Hall-of-Fame dudes to combat the menace. Ok, so it’s a loose plot and we’re not reading for the story anyway. They’re all being murdered, remember?

Cue the metafiction(?) that will wring your brain to a pulp. It’s easier if you try not to think too hard about it. Deadpool nearly falls into a time paradox, but the writers are sadistic, so he doesn’t destroy himself in the Ideaverse. Or are you trying to say he’s unique? Maybe.

Also, since I’d never heard about Deadpool before this, I didn’t know he could regenerate until Sherlock said so. I was briefly confused as to how the whole Frankenstein brain surgery took place.
So there is an advantage to split personalities, I see.
You don’t see nothin’. You just wanna sound good.
Shut up! This is my review, not yours. You can post all the profound sounding stuff on the other blog, ok?
Humph. Are you tellin’ me you can actually understand what happened in the book, then? You just liked the blood.
Maybe I did. What’s your point?
Sigh. Never mind.
It’s hard not to when you’re inside my head.

Ahem, coming back.

All in all, a riotously fun read. It messes with your mind a bit, but that’s part of the charm. Killustrated has some slick artwork and snappy dialogue. Cultural references abound. You have been warned.

 

One thought on “Review: Deadpool Killustrated by Cullen Bunn

  1. Pingback: Shallow Reader Post: Deadpool Killustrated | The Endless Reading List

Leave a Reply

