Review: PunisherMAX, Vol. 2: Bullseye by Jason Aaron (Text), Steve Dillon (Illustrator)

PunisherMAX, Vol. 2: BullseyePunisherMAX, Vol. 2: Bullseye by Jason Aaron
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Warning: They are not shitting about this being an adult title!

I think this is a well-written, gripping, and occasionally funny story.
But I’m never ever, no never, reading this again.
I can’t.
This was my hard-limit:

Bullseye takes a mother and her two children hostage for a few days. He rapes the mother (off-screen), referring to it over ‘breakfast’ with the children. And then after all that psychological torture, he orders his goons to shoot them in front of him. All this in order to get into Castle’s mind. He evidently didn’t feel anything the first time around. So, he did it to a few more families, before he gave up on the idea.

I get it, he’s a psycho. But that literally made me sick to my stomach.
description

Beyond that, there’s plenty of torture scenes perpetrated by both Bullseye and Punisher.
It’s not like I haven’t read worse, but for some reason this particular title hit me hard. I’m only guessing here, but I think it may had had something to to with the slightly cartoony art. It’s like my mind was having problems processing all the violence, while simultaneously looking at the drawings.

Or it may have more to do with the fact that my son read this, before I had a chance to look at it.
Mommy feels guilty…
I’m hoping the rape reference when over his head, but like any good parent, I’m sure as hell not going to ask him if he ‘caught that one’.
He did, however, think it was hella funny when Bullseye shit out the gun.
And, yes, it was hella funny.

Like I said, this was really good, but I still didn’t like it.
Still, my rating reflects the quality of this one, and not the personal enjoyment I got out of it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

